About lil ol’ me.

My love of water goes as far back as I can remember. My dad put in me swim lessons at a mere 6 months of age. From there, I was on the swim team and was a life guard in my teenage years. I basically grew up on the lake in Tennessee. Every weekend we would go camping and we had a boat where my youth was spent swimming in Norris Lake.

Almost every year, we would take a trip to the beach. Usually it was Myrtle Beach, SC or Panama City Beach, FL.

For graduating high school, my parent’s gift was a trip to anywhere in the world. I chose Mexico because at that time, I was obsessed with the Mayan Ruins. We went to Cancun. And thus began my thirst for traveling and culture beyond my home of Tennessee.

I dreamed to move somewhere else where the Caribbean ocean would be in my back yard. However, those dreams were indefinitely put on hold when I got pregnant at 20 years old. I became a single mother living paycheck to paycheck. I did meet someone that I married for a brief time when my son was 3 years old. That was in 1999. We visited Cancun a couple of times but our relationship was short lived and I went back to being a single mother barely scraping by.

It would be many, many more years before I visited the Caribbean ocean again. I was finally able to take a trip to Jamaica in 2009 and although Jamaica was beautiful, the circumstances surrounding that trip was not the best. Nevertheless, that trip made me start saving and thinking of ways I could get back to the Caribbean on a regular basis.

I went on a family cruise to Cayman Islands and Cozumel, Mexico in 2012. I thought cruises would be a less expensive approach to be back to my happy place. The cruise was just okay and I was certainly happy to be back to the Caribbean but it was not my style. I felt rushed at the cruise port. Spending a few hours at the port of call and then days at sea was not my idea of fun. So at that point, I knew cruises were out for me.

I got married to my now husband in June 2013 and we had saved for a honeymoon in Ocho Rios, Jamaica. He was not an ocean person. That made my heart sad. He had only been to Myrtle Beach, SC and while it is a beach, it is not the Caribbean! I promised him I could convert him to an ocean lover. He had doubts. Well….I did it, I converted him in one trip!

And here we are 4 years and several trips later. We are also now certified divers!! Someday we will be living in the Caribbean. But we are still in Tennessee for the time being. We have 2 young grandchildren now and want to stick around in Tennessee for a few years for them. So we travel as much as we can until we can move there.

I will be backtracking to that honeymoon trip to Jamaica in 2013 and go from there until we are caught up to the present. I hope you enjoy my little blog.

Thank you for reading!

Leave a Reply

